The Steering Committee and the Scientific Committee oversee the FinnGen study. Steering Committee is the highest decision-making body. Both committees have representatives from University of Helsinki, each biobank and each pharma partner.

University of Helsinki, each biobank, each pharma partner and Business Finland has the right to appoint one representative to the Steering Committee. Responsibilities of the Steering Committee include major strategic decisions and monitoring the progress of the project against the deliverables and milestones and the high-level objectives of the Scientific Plan.

Professor Aarno Palotie (University of Helsinki) has been appointed as the Scientific Director of the study. He is responsible for the overall conduct and output of the Scientific Plan.  

The Scientific Committee establishes and oversees the various working groups within the project and advises the Scientific Director. The Scientific Committee is composed of the Scientific Director, working group leaders and scientific representatives appointed by the University of Helsinki, biobanks and pharma partners.

Docent Anu Jalanko and Mervi Aavikko, PhD, have been appointed as the FinnGen Project Managers and Risto Kajanne, PhD, as the FinnGen Project Coordinator. Mari Kaunisto, PhD, is the Communications Director and responsible for the proactive public dissemination of the study.